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The Governor of California
President pro Tempore of the Senate
Speaker of the Assembly

State Capitol

Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:

Asdirected by the Joint Legislative Audit Committee, my office conducted an audit of the California
Department of Public Health’s (CDPH) fetal death and stillbirth registration processes, which
included a review of four local registrars in the Contra Costa, Los Angeles, Placer, and Sacramento
registration districts. In general, we determined that improvements in the fetal death registration
process could help reduce registration delays, and we identified some actions CDPH could take to
facilitate these improvements.

According to California state law, when a fetus dies after having reached 20 weeks of uterogestation,
the fetal death generally must be registered with the local registrar of births and deaths within eight
calendar days of the delivery. However, we found that local registration of fetal deaths in California
took an average of three times longer than the legally required eight-day time frame. As part of its
responsibility in the registration process, CDPH administers the Fetal Death Registration System
(FDRS) that parties involved in the fetal death registration process typically use to gather and
review the information required to complete a fetal death certificate. Our audit identified six key
steps in the fetal death registration process, and we found that registrations proceed more quickly
when hospitals take the lead in starting new fetal death certificate records in FDRS and obtain
physician signatures. The Legislature could, therefore, help to reduce some delays in fetal death
registrations by requiring hospitals to initiate the process.

We also analyzed the ways in which certain parties, such as funeral homes or physicians, may be
compelled to meet required time frames in the certificate issuing process. CDPH does not have
specific authority to impose administrative sanctions on physicians and funeral homes that fail to
meet these requirements, but there are other state entities—such as the California Department of
Consumer Affairs’ Medical Board of California (Medical Board) and the Cemetery and Funeral
Bureau (Funeral Bureau)—with express authority to do so. We recommend that the Legislature
amend state law to require CDPH to coordinate with relevant licensing entities—such as the
Medical Board and Funeral Bureau—to provide data and information on fetal death registration
timeliness violations in ways that could allow such entities to investigate and sanction violations.

Respectfully submitted,

it A

GRANT PARKS
California State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200 | Sacramento, CA 95814 | 916.445.0255 | 916.327.0019 fax | www.auditor.ca.gov
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Selected Abbreviations Used in This Report

CDPH California Department of Public Health
Cal-IVRS California Integrated Vital Records System
EDRS Electronic Death Registration System

FDRS Fetal Death Registration System
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Summary

Results in Brief

When a mother or family (family) experiences a pregnancy that fails in its late stages,
they must face both the wrenching emotional aspects of the loss and some specific
administrative steps that the State requires. According to California state law, when
a fetus dies after having reached 20 weeks of uterogestation, the fetal death generally
must be registered with the local registrar of births and deaths (local registrar)
within eight calendar days of the delivery. The local registrar’s responsibility includes
ensuring the completeness of the fetal death certificate information, registering

the fetal death, and then issuing a permit for disposition of human remains (burial
permit). In addition, state law requires the California Department of Public Health
(CDPH) to register fetal deaths at the state level as it does for all California vital
statistics. Significantly, CDPH’s fetal death registration process occurs after the

local registrar’s process, and therefore does not affect the eight-day requirement or
families’ ability to proceed with burial or cremation.

CDPH does, however, have supervisory authority over local registrars to ensure
uniform compliance with all vital records requirements, including the timely
registration of fetal deaths. As part of this responsibility, CDPH administers the
State’s electronic system for registering vital events, which is generally used by parties
involved in the fetal death registration process to gather and review fetal death
certificate information. For the six years of the registration process that we reviewed
for this audit—2017 through 2022—CDPH administered the process in its Fetal
Death Registration System (FDRS).!

Our analysis of data from this time period shows that local registration of fetal
deaths in California took three times longer, on average, than the eight-day time
frame state law allows. Although the statewide data can show how long it took to
register a fetal death, it does not show the specific circumstances that may have
caused delays. Therefore, in addition to analyzing detailed FDRS data, we interviewed
staff at four local registration districts—Contra Costa, Los Angeles, Placer, and
Sacramento—and reviewed 20 cases from each of these registration districts to
identify the specific sources and causes of fetal death registration delays. This
information led us to identify six key steps in the fetal death registration process and
the parties typically involved in each. We then analyzed the average processing times
for each step statewide and among our four local registration districts.

We found that the steps that caused the longest delays in the fetal death registration
process were those in which funeral homes, hospitals, or coroners created a new
fetal death certificate in FDRS, collected and entered into the certificate the required
information, and obtained the signature of a physician or coroner before submitting
the certificate to the local registrar for approval. We found that the steps that
contributed least to delays—steps that only take about three days on average—were

T We did not receive 2022 FDRS data until after we conducted much of our analyses for this audit. Therefore, although we
are able to report on statewide data for calendar year 2022, our more detailed analysis of the four registration districts
we reviewed relies on data from 2017-2021.
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those steps in which local registrars reviewed and approved a fetal death certificate
and issued a burial permit. For example, it took an average of almost 14 days for
responsible parties to start a new death certificate in FDRS and begin the subsequent
registration process—nearly twice the time frame allowed for the entire process in
state law.

We noted an ambiguity in the process that, if clarified, may help to mitigate one

of the earliest delays that tends to occur: state law does not specify the precise
sequence of events in the registration process or clearly describe who is responsible
for starting a new certificate. For example, although state law assigns responsibility
for “preparing” the fetal death certificate to funeral homes, it does not specify
which involved party should start the new fetal death certificate in FDRS. We found
that when hospital staff started the new certificate in FDRS and began collecting
information, the average time to complete a fetal death registration was shorter.

For example, from 2017 to 2021, Contra Costa hospitals created 89 percent of the
registration district’s new fetal death certificates in FDRS, and the average time to
register a fetal death certificate in the district from 2017 to 2022 was only 12 days.
Although this average still exceeds the State’s required eight-day time frame, it is
the shortest average processing time for registration of the four local registrars we
reviewed, and well under the 2017—2022 statewide average of 26 days. The efficiency
in Contra Costa likely occurred because hospital staff are more immediately aware
when a fetal death has occurred—compared to funeral home staft—and more likely
to have direct access to any required medical information.

Another strategy for shortening the processing time to register fetal death certificates
calls for adding a specific functionality to CDPH’s data system: enabling the system
to automatically notify parties when a certificate is awaiting their action. Although
the system currently notifies users that a certificate has already passed the eight-day
registration time frame, it does not provide an equivalent notification when one user
transfers a certificate to another user, such as when a hospital transfers an in-process
fetal death certificate to a funeral home or when a party requests a physician’s or
coroner’s signature. Our review found that this limitation likely contributed to

delays in registrations among some of the cases we reviewed. Among the 80 fetal
death registrations we reviewed, we found at least 35 instances of delays occurring
because a hospital, funeral home, or local registrar was potentially unaware that a
certificate was awaiting their action. For example, the local registrar in one case in
Placer took five days before accessing the certificate for review and then rejecting

it. That registrar explained that the office staff likely had not known the certificate
was pending review until the funeral home called them. A system that requires

staff to depend on notification from other parties is less efficient than an automated
notification system.

Finally, CDPH has not regularly used its FDRS data to monitor fetal death
registration timeliness, to assess the causes of delays, or to communicate delays to
parties involved in the fetal death registration. Although 84 percent of fetal death
registrations from 2017 through 2022 exceeded the eight-day registration time frame
established in state law, CDPH only infrequently used its FDRS data to monitor
timeliness and intervene. CDPH told us that its Vital Records staft’s priority is to
certify fetal death certificates and that previously, when staff had time available
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outside of those duties, they would review FDRS for registration certificates aged
over 30 days and send emails to notify local registrars that the certificates were
overdue. CDPH explained that it stopped conducting this type of monitoring and
sending those emails in 2020 because of staff limitations related to the pandemic.
However, the department could only provide limited evidence that it had sent such
emails previously, leaving the extent of its past efforts unclear.

CDPH could take a more active role in meeting its oversight responsibilities by
engaging with parties in the local registration process to assess the cause of delays
and, when applicable, coordinate with these parties to ensure compliance with
registration requirements. For example, CDPH could take additional actions to
ensure that hospitals or funeral homes are aware of their responsibilities during the
fetal death registration process, and the department could ensure that these parties
have access to the data system used to register fetal deaths. In addition, although
CDPH does not have authority to impose administrative sanctions on funeral homes
or physicians who do not meet their obligations to process fetal death registrations
within the State’s required time frames, there are other state entities with the express
authority to do so. The Legislature could help facilitate those entities” oversight by
requiring CDPH to provide them with clear and actionable information about delays
and their possible sources.

Agency Comments

CDPH agreed with our recommendations and explained that it will strive to facilitate
a timelier fetal death registration process among all involved parties.
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Introduction

Background

General Activities Required to Register a Fetal Death

Experiencing a fetal death is harrowing and emotionally difficult, and for many
mothers and families (family), the administrative process of registering the death
can exacerbate its impact. According to California state law, when a fetus dies
after having reached 20 weeks of uterogestation, the fetal death generally must

be registered with the local registration district within eight calendar days of the
delivery. Such registration involves starting a new fetal death certificate, obtaining
certain information and signatures, and filing the certificate with the jurisdiction’s
local registrar of births and deaths (local registrar). The local registrar’s responsibility
involves ensuring the completeness of the fetal death certificate information,
registering the fetal death, and issuing a permit for disposition of human remains
(burial permit) that allows the family to proceed with final arrangements, typically
burial or cremation.

Although state law requires a funeral home to “prepare” the fetal death certificate
and register it with the local registrar, these provisions do not mandate which
entity—whether hospitals or funeral homes—is responsible for starting the process.
In some cases, the hospital where the fetal death occurred will start a new fetal
death certificate and enter the necessary medical information into the certificate.
Sometimes, the family’s chosen funeral home will be the party to start the new
certificate and then work with the hospital where the fetal death occurred to obtain
the necessary medical information. In the relatively rare cases in which state law
requires a coroner to investigate a fetal death, the coroner is generally the party that
starts the new fetal death certificate.?

If a parent should wish to, they may obtain a Certificate of Still Birth in addition to
the legally required fetal death certificate. A Certificate of Still Birth is an optional
certificate, intended to recognize the process of birth experienced by a mother who
gives birth to a stillborn fetus and to offer many bereaved parents some solace and
comfort. Under state law, a Certificate of Still Birth does not replace the fetal death
certificate, is not proof of live birth, and may not be used for any governmental
purpose other than to respond to the request of the parent. A Certificate of Still Birth
has no legal effect and serves as a voluntary, symbolic recognition for its recipients.
Therefore, the Certificate of Still Birth has no bearing on a family’s ability to obtain a
burial permit. Accordingly, our audit focuses only on the legally required process for
registering a fetal death and obtaining a burial permit.

2 Some districts have a medical examiner in lieu of a coroner. A medical examiner has the same powers and duties as a
coroner but must be a licensed physician who is qualified as a specialist in pathology. Of the four local registration districts
we reviewed, only Los Angeles has a medical examiner, but for simplicity, we use the term coroner throughout this report.
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CDPH Records All Deaths Statewide, Including Fetal Deaths

After a local registrar registers a fetal death, the registrar forwards the fetal death
certificate to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), which is responsible
for registering, maintaining, and issuing certified copies of records of all California births
and deaths. CDPH’s website explains that a person can use a certified copy of a death
certificate to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, and notify the federal Social
Security Administration of the death, among other legal purposes that are by nature
generally less applicable to fetal deaths. It is important to note that CDPH’s process to
register a fetal death and issue a certified copy of the certificate occurs after the local
registrar has registered the fetal death. CDPH's process therefore does not delay or affect a
family’s ability to proceed with burial or cremation. In fact, by the time CDPH registers

a fetal death certificate, the local registrar has generally already issued the burial permit.

CDPH Oversees the Fetal Death Registration Process, but It Does Not Have Disciplinary
Authority Over All Parties Required to Participate in That Process

State law grants CDPH supervisory authority over local registrars to ensure uniform
compliance with all vital records requirements, including the timely registration of fetal
deaths. In requiring this oversight, state law mandates that CDPH maintain a system
for fetal death registration, which CDPH administers through the California Integrated
Vital Records System (Cal-IVRS), California’s system for registering vital events.
Cal-IVRS is made up of multiple systems, including the Electronic Death Registration
System and the Electronic Birth Registration System (EBRS), the latter of which
includes the Fetal Death Registration Module, which is used to register fetal deaths.
Before June 2023, fetal deaths were registered using the Fetal Death Registration System
(EDRS). Almost all of the fetal deaths that occurred statewide for the six-year period
from 2017 to 2022 that we reviewed—on average about 2,250 per year—were registered
electronically using FDRS.3

To electronically register a fetal death using FDRS, staft at a local entity—often a
hospital or funeral home—first start the process by creating a new fetal death certificate
in FDRS, then collect the necessary nonmedical information and, within FDRS, enter
that information into the appropriate field on the certificate. Physicians or coroners
must enter any required medical information and must sign the certificate before it can
be registered. Although CDPH has supervisory authority over local registrars, CDPH
does not have the power to impose professional discipline or issue administrative fines
to funeral homes, physicians, or coroners for not completing their responsibilities in

a timely manner. Figure 1 summarizes each party’s responsibilities under state law
during the fetal death registration process. However, although state law outlines some
responsibilities for each party during fetal death registration, it neither specifies the
precise sequence of events in the registration process nor clearly describes who is
responsible for starting a new certificate. The sequence of the actual steps taken by each
party varied during the fetal death registrations we reviewed.

3 Although responsible parties are still legally allowed to register fetal deaths using paper forms, in the four local registration
districts we reviewed, we identified only one fetal death certificate that was completed in this manner from 2017 through 2022.
All other fetal deaths were registered electronically.
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Figure 1
State Law Establishes Various Parties’ Responsibilities During the Fetal Death Registration Process

PHYSICIAN*

Ifin attendance of the delivery, required
to, within 15 hours, state on the fetal
death certificate the time of fetal death

or delivery, the causes of the fetal death, FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATE
and other medical data, and sign the
certificate. connmcareor e o
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If reviewing a fetal death, must complete
the following actions within three days
of examining the fetus: state on the fetal
death certificate the time of fetal death,
the causes of the fetal death, and other
medical data, and sign the certificate.
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FUNERAL DIRECTOR
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Required to obtain the required
information, other than medical or
health data, to prepare the fetal death
certificate and register it with the local
registrar within eight days of the delivery.

LOCAL REGISTRAR

Required to examine each fetal death p
certificate before acceptance for —
registration and, if the certificate is not - o —
; £ 3 waonenorows Elbwnr st Cloerissr imsipton Clowarmins
properly completed, obtain further 5
information as necessary. Once the :
certificate is properly executed and
complete, the registrar is required to

issue a burial permit.
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT

OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Required to examine certificates received

fromthe local registrars, and if theyare This process does not affect the family’s
incomplete or unsatisfactory, obtain ability to obtain a burial permit.

further information as necessary.

Source: State law.

Note: Figure B in Appendix B shows the types of information required on a fetal death certificate, including the fields that various parties involved in

the fetal death registration process are responsible for completing.

* Although state law imposes these requirements on physicians but not hospitals, hospital staff often play a role in completing fetal death certificates
and obtaining physicians’signatures.
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Statewide, there are 61 local registration districts. Fifty-eight of these district
boundaries generally correspond with California’s 58 counties, and the cities

of Berkeley, Long Beach, and Pasadena comprise the remaining three districts.
Appendix A shows the number of fetal deaths and the average registration time
for each local registration district in the state. We reviewed four local registration
districts to assess any differences among them in registration processes and
timeliness. The audit request specifically named Sacramento and Placer as

two local registration districts for our audit. We also selected the Los Angeles and
Contra Costa local registration districts because both registered relatively significant
numbers of fetal deaths during the review period, but their average registration
processing times differed from one another and from Sacramento and Placer.
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Audit Results

LENGTHY PROCESSING TIMES IN REGISTERING FETAL DEATHS DELAY
FAMILIES’ RECEIPT OF BURIAL PERMITS

From 2017 through 2022, the average processing time for registering fetal deaths statewide
was three times longer than the eight-day time frame that state law allows.* However,
CDPH'’s data indicates that local registrars’ review and registration of death certificates was
not a significant contributor to these delays. Instead, the longest delays occurred in starting a
new fetal death certificate, collecting required fetal death certificate information to populate
the fields in the new certificate, and in obtaining the signature of a physician or coroner—a
step that includes updating medical information if necessary.

Processing Times for Fetal Death Registration Far Exceed Time Frames Allowed in State Law
During calendar years 2017 through 2022, 84 percent of fetal death registrations in California

took longer than eight days. Table 1 shows the average and median number of days for
fetal death registrations, both of which far exceeded allowable times during those years.

Table 1
The Time It Takes to Register a Fetal Death Has Generally Increased in Recent Years

YEAR AVERAGE NUMBER OF DAYS MEDIAN NUMBER OF DAYS

2017 2177 1336 [
2018 2396 1347 1
2019 2250 1363
2020 2501 1541
2021 2z I ;0
2022 o0 NN s
Total  25.86 [N 1452 [
StorTHEEnTnEprocess  o00 NN soo [N

Source: CDPH’s Fetal Death Registration System and state law.

Note: We also examined unattended fetal deaths and found that about one percent, or 181 of all fetal deaths statewide from 2017
through 2022, were likely unattended. According to CDPH’s data, registering unattended fetal deaths at the local registration districts
took an average of 44 days. We determined a fetal death was likely unattended by a physician at delivery, based on the location
where the fetal death occurred as recorded in FDRS data, such as in a vehicle.

4 Alocal registrar must first register a fetal death, after which the registrar issues a burial permit that allows the burial or cremation
to occur. Because local registrars generally issue a burial permit immediately after registering a fetal death, and because the
issuance of this burial permit is the last administrative step required for burial or cremation, our report uses the term fetal death
registration to refer to the process between a delivery and the issuance of a burial permit.
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The data also show that the processing time for registering fetal deaths is generally
increasing: the average time to register a fetal death increased by 15 percent between

2019 and 2020, by another 20 percent between 2020 and 2021, and it then decreased by

4 percent from 2021 and 2022. We considered whether the fluctuation in registration time
could be related, at least in part, to the broader effects of the pandemic. Overall deaths in
California increased during the years of the pandemic. CDPH explained that the increase
in deaths affected the workload of entities and the timeliness of fetal death registrations,
since the same entities who perform death certificate preparation and registration also
perform fetal death certificate preparation and registration. In addition, we spoke with
staff from the four local registrars we reviewed. Staff from Contra Costa, Placer, and
Sacramento told us they had generally not detected much of an impact from the pandemic
on the registration process. In contrast, Los Angeles staff reported having received a lot
of death certificates in 2020 and 2021 because of the pandemic and asserted that those
caused delays in fetal death registrations.

We also spoke with staff at seven hospitals and at eight funeral homes distributed
throughout our four local registration districts to obtain their perspective on the

fetal death registration process and to identify reasons for delays. Staff at four of the
eight funeral homes and six of the seven hospitals told us that the pandemic did not
increase the time it took them to register fetal death certificates. Similarly, coroners in
three of the local registration districts we reviewed echoed this perspective. However,
staff at three of the remaining four funeral homes told us that the pandemic affected how
long it took them to obtain the required medical information from hospitals, and the
one remaining hospital told us that its staff observed some delays in responsiveness from
the local registrar.

We Assessed the Steps and Roles in the Fetal Death Registration Process to Determine
Whether Delays in Specific Parts of the Process Drove Statewide Trends

Because state law governing fetal death registration does not specify the precise sequence of
events in the registration process or specify who is responsible for creating a new certificate,
we analyzed FDRS data and interviewed local registrar staft to understand the fetal death
registration process in practice. Using the information we learned from the data and registrar
staff, we divided the registration process into six distinct steps that we observed occur in most
cases. Figure 2 describes those six steps and the parties who may be involved in completing
each one. Steps 1, 2, and 4 are typically completed by hospital staff, funeral homes, or, in some
cases, the coroner’s office; steps 3, 5, and 6 are completed by the local registrar.

In general, registration delays did not occur while certificates were awaiting review or
approval by local registrars. Figure 3 shows the results of our analysis of the number of
days that elapsed during each of the six steps in each year we reviewed. For steps 3, 5,
and 6, we found that local registrars reviewed and approved the medical information
and fetal death certificates and issued a burial permit in about three days, on average. In
contrast, the greatest delays in the process occurred during those steps that hospitals,
funeral homes, or coroners generally complete: the first step, the initiation of a new fetal
death certificate in FDRS; and the fourth step, the time it took to obtain the physician’s
or coroner’s signature on the certificate, collect and input any updates to medical
information, and submit the fetal death certificate to the local registrar for final approval.
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Figure 2
Key Steps of the Fetal Death Registration Process at the Local Registration District Level

o Days to Start a Fetal Death Certificate
by a Funeral Home or Hospital
The time it takes hospital or funeral home
staff to start a fetal death certificate in FDRS
after a fetal death.

!

e Fetal Death Certificate
Medical Information Collected and
Submitted to Local Registrar for Review ‘

Hospital or funeral home staff collects and ‘ ..........................................................
submits medical information through FDRS
to the local registrar for review.

..............................................................

e Local Registrar Accepts or Rejects
Fetal Death Certificate Medical Information

The local registrar reviews the fetal death certificate medical Return to step 2 and make
information in FDRS for accuracy and completeness and either ) corrections if the local registrar
accepts or rejects this information. After accepting the information, rejects the fetal death certificate

the local registrar locks the medical information to ensure that it medical information.
is not unnecessarily modified by hospital or funeral home staff
when they request a physician's or coroner’s signature in step 4.

.

° Completed Fetal Death Certificate
Submitted for Local Registrar Approval

Hospital or funeral home staff requests and reviews a physician's

or a coroner's signature for the fetal death certificate. If requested Return to step 2 if submitting
by a physician, hospital or funeral home staff collects and submits } any necessary up_dates tothe -----------
any necessary updates to the medical information. Further, hospital medical information.

or funeral home staff collects and submits personal information,
submits the certificate for approval to the local registrar, and
submits a disposition application to apply for a burial permit.

-~
~ :
6 Local Registrar Approves or Rejects :
the Fetal Death Certificate Return to step 4 and make

corrections if the local registrar
rejects the fetal death certificate
for approval.

The local registrar reviews the fetal death }
certificate one last time and either
approves or rejects the record in FDRS.

N

G Local Registrar Issues a Burial Permit

The local registrar reviews the disposition application for
accuracy, approves the application, and issues a permit.

Source: CDPH's Fetal Death Registration System and interviews with local registrars.
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For example, Figure 3 shows that from 2017 through 2022, it took an average of
almost 14 days for responsible parties to even start the registration process by
creating a new death certificate in FDRS—nearly twice the time allowed in state law
for the entire process.

Figure 3
Throughout the State, Fetal Death Certificate Registration Has Consistently Taken Longer Than State Law Allows

STATE LAW ALLOWS 8 DAYS
FOR THE ENTIRE PROCESS
|
2017 1228 314112 5.56 122003
2018 13.83 304 112 598 129 0.2
2019 143 314 13 6.51 1281 0.04
2020 13.09 336 1.33 186 [ 0.07
2021 1651 375 1.64 7.92 167 007
2022 1511 3B 1B 867 176 [ 0.05
Average number 1370 329 136 682 151 [ 0.05
of days |
0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35
DAYS
FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATE REGISTRATION PROCESS
STEP Days to start a fetal death certificate STEP Medical information collected and STEP Local registrar accepts or
1 by a funeral home or hospital 2 submitted to local registrar for review 3 rejects medical information
N[EW  Completed fetal death certificate STEP Local registrar approves or STEP | Local registrar issues a
GO submitted for local registrar approval® 5 rejects the fetal death certificate 6 | burial permit

Source: CDPH’s Fetal Death Registration System and interviews with local registrars.

Note: Some FDRS records lack data in one or more of the above steps, which can lead to a different overall average. As a result, the sum of steps one

through six in the above bars do not exactly match those in Table 1.

* This step includes obtaining a physician’s or a coroner’s signature, updating medical and entering personal information, submitting the certificate for
approval, and applying for a burial permit.
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Four Local Registrars We Reviewed Generally Manage the Fetal Death Registration
Process in the Same Way and Experience Delays During the Same Steps of the Process

We reviewed local registration processes and responsibilities at each of the

four districts to identify any key differences. We found that all four local registrars
have established equivalent roles and responsibilities related to the fetal death
registration process and have each designated staff to serve as liaisons to hospital,
funeral home, and coroner personnel. Further, all four local registrars explained
that they follow the instructions outlined in CDPH’s FDRS handbook for fetal death
registration and burial permit issuance. Staff at the four local registrars may also
undergo CDPH’s training regarding the use of FDRS and the process for registering
a fetal death and issuing a burial permit. However, state law does not specify the
precise sequence of events in the registration process or specify who is responsible
for creating a new certificate. In the absence of such direction, local registrars do
not enforce external roles or responsibilities; rather, they work with whichever party
happens to be completing those steps in a given case.

Processing times for fetal death registrations at the four local registrars varied
considerably but, as is the case statewide, frequently exceeded the eight-day time
frame specified in state law. Contra Costa had the shortest average processing

time for registering a fetal death (nearly 13 days), whereas Sacramento had the
lengthiest (37 days). Contra Costa also had the lowest percentage of late fetal death
registrations—66 percent of all its fetal death registrations exceed legal time frames—
whereas Los Angeles had the highest rate, at 91 percent. Table 2 shows the total
number of fetal deaths during our review period, the average registration processing
time, and the percentage of timely and late registrations at each of the four local
registration districts.

Table 2
Average Fetal Death Registration Processing Times Varied Among the Four Local Registration Districts We Reviewed
2017 Through 2022

TOTAL PERCENTAGE PERCENTAGE
LOCAL NUMBER AVERAGE NUMBER OF DAYS TO COMPLETEA OF TIMELY OF LATE
REGISTRATION OF FETAL FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATE, REGISTER CERTIFICATE, | FETAL DEATH FETAL DEATH

DISTRICT DEATHS AND ISSUE A BURIAL PERMIT REGISTRATIONS | REGISTRATIONS

Contra Costa 245 12.50 34% 66%
Los Angeles 3,144 30.99 9 91
Placer 248 21.15 23 77
Sacramento 597 36.95 17 83
Total or Average 4,234 30.19 12% 88%

STATE LAW ALLOWS 8 DAYS FOR
THEEnTiRe pRocess 800 NN

Source: Analysis of FDRS data.
Note: See Table A in Appendix A for the average registration processing times for all local registration districts.
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A broad review of CDPH’s vital statistics data provides information about how long
it took to register a fetal death, but it cannot help us understand the circumstances—
such as insufficient staffing or waiting for information from grieving families—that
caused the delays. Therefore, to obtain perspective about how delays could be
mitigated, we examined individual fetal death registration records from the four local
registrars. This FDRS data obtained from CDPH includes a chronological sequence
of activities for each registration, such as the dates and times parties used the system
to start, modify, or submit certificates for review and approval. We also selected 8o
fetal death registration cases—20 from each of the four local registrars. Because the
local registrars do not maintain additional documentation of any interactions, such
as case notes or emails with outside parties, we had to rely on the FDRS data from
CDPH as well as interviews with staff at the four local registrars, at related hospitals,
and at funeral homes when assessing the causes for individual delays.

KEY IMPROVEMENTS IN THE FETAL DEATH REGISTRATION PROCESS
COULD MITIGATE PRIMARY CAUSES OF DELAYS

The results of our review indicate that individual steps of the registration process
proceed more quickly when hospitals play a lead role in the process. Hospitals may
be better equipped than funeral homes, for instance, to determine that a fetal death
has occurred and to collect and input necessary medical information. We also
identified a gap in the functionality of FDRS: the system does not automatically notify
parties when a certificate is awaiting their action. If that notification were added to
CDPH’s new data system, CDPH could better ensure the timely coordination among
the parties involved in the registration process.

The Fetal Death Registration Process Moves More Quickly When Hospitals Begin the
Registration Process

Consistent with our statewide analysis of CDPH’s data, our equivalent analysis

of the data specific to the four local registration districts shows that the most
significant delays occurred during two steps of the fetal death registration process.
The longest delays, on average, occurred during the first step of the process, the
initiation of a new fetal death certificate in FDRS. From 2017 to 2021 at the four local
registration districts we reviewed, staft at hospitals, funeral homes, and coroner’s
offices took an average of 16 days to start a new fetal death certificate in FDRS—
twice the time allowed for the entire process in state law.> As Figure 4 shows, the
second-longest delay occurred during the fourth step, when staff at hospitals or
funeral homes obtain the physician’s or coroner’s signature on the certificate, collect
and update any medical or personal information, and submit the completed fetal
death certificate to the local registrar for final approval: this step took an average of
nearly eight days. Our review of individual cases found evidence that, during this

5 We did not receive 2022 FDRS data until after we conducted much of our analyses for this audit. Accordingly, although we
are able to report on statewide data for calendar year 2022, our more detailed analysis of the four registration districts
we reviewed relies on data from 2017-2021.
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fourth step, funeral home staff or hospital staft may also be attempting to respond to
physicians' or registrars' requests for more complete or accurate medical information
that would otherwise have been collected during step two.

Figure 4
Among the Districts We Reviewed From 2017 Through 2021, Fetal Death Certificate Registration Has Consistently
Taken Longer Than State Law Allows

STATE LAW ALLOWS 8 DAYS
FORTHE ENTIRE PROCESS

0.?1

Contra Costa 365 158123

062
Placer 6.06 201
Los Angeles 17.94 356 180 6.78 157 003
| 0.6
Sactamento s i T
Average number 1635 306 159 7.85 1521 0.04
of days |
0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35
DAYS
FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATE REGISTRATION PROCESS
STEP Days to start a fetal death certificate STEP Medical information collected and STEP Local registrar accepts or
1 by a funeral home or hospital 2 submitted to local registrar for review 3 rejects medical information
N[EW  Completed fetal death certificate STEP Local registrar approves or STEP | Local registrar issues a
G submitted for local registrar approval® 5 rejects the fetal death certificate 6 | burial permit

Source: CDPH’s Fetal Death Registration System and interviews with local registrars.
Note: Some FDRS records lack data in one or more of the above steps, which can lead to a different overall average.

* This step includes obtaining a physician’s or a coroner’s signature, updating medical and entering personal information, submitting the certificate for
approval, and applying for a burial permit.

FDRS data indicate that, on average, funeral home staft across the four local registration
districts started the registration process by creating more than 61 percent of the new
fetal death certificates, and hospitals created about 33 percent of certificates. As Table 3
shows, staff at funeral homes take more time to start a new fetal death certificate in
EDRS, on average, than staff at hospitals do. This trend was most pronounced in Placer,
where funeral homes averaged 12 days to start a new fetal death certificate in FDRS
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and hospitals averaged only three days. As Table 3 shows, funeral homes across the
four local registrars took an average of 15 days to start a new certificate following a fetal
death—nearly twice the time frame allowed for the entire process in state law.

Table 3
Hospitals Generally Started Fetal Death Certificates Faster Than Did Funeral Homes
From 2017 Through 2021

| HOSPITAL STARTED CERTIFICATE FUNERAL HOME STARTED CERTIFICATE

LOCAL PERCENTAGE OF AVERAGE DAYS TO PERCENTAGE OF AVERAGE DAYS TO
REGISTRATION e iIA[@N 1331 START ARECORD CERTIFICATES STARTED START ARECORD
DISTRICT BY A HOSPITAL IN FDRS BY AFUNERAL HOME IN FDRS
Contra Costa 89% 3 8% 9
Los Angeles 24 1" 70 15
Placer 69 3 30 12
Sacramento 40 10 53 16

Averages 33% 8 61% 15

Source: Analysis of FDRS data.

Note: In rare cases, a certificate may be started by a government entity, such as a coroner. Percentages shown therefore do
not add to 100 percent.

Several factors may contribute to a funeral home’s staff taking a relatively long time
to start a fetal death certificate in FDRS. First, funeral home staff can only begin the
process after they are notified that a fetal death has occurred, and local registrars
told us that funeral homes would generally not be made aware of the death until the
family has selected the funeral home and has begun to make funeral arrangements. It
could, understandably, take a family a considerable amount of time to select a funeral
home. In addition, the Los Angeles local registrar told us that some fetal deaths occur
at hospitals that do not have access to FDRS, and the Placer local registrar indicated
that not all hospitals have staff with the specific responsibility to start a fetal death
certificate in FDRS. When a hospital lacks access to FDRS, the funeral home then
becomes responsible for starting the certificate in FDRS, which can only occur after
the funeral home learns of a fetal death from the family. Finally, funeral homes may
encounter challenges that could cause delays in starting a fetal death certificate in
FDRS. An owner, who explained he owns five funeral homes, stated that delays occur
at his facilities for a variety of additional factors, including lack of training on fetal
death registration and staffing issues.

In contrast, hospital staff can start new fetal death certificates in FDRS significantly
sooner. As we show in Table 3, staff in hospitals across the four local registration
districts started new fetal death certificates in FDRS in an average of only eight days,
or about half the time taken by staff in funeral homes. Local registrars explained that
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the shorter time frames for hospital staff to start new fetal death certificates likely
occur because hospital staff have access to information in the hospital’s database that
a fetal death has occurred.

Moreover, the data indicate that in addition to hospital staff generally starting new
fetal death certificates more rapidly than do staff at funeral homes, hospital staff
started new certificates in FDRS in even shorter time frames when they performed
this task frequently—that is, when the task was part of their accustomed duties.

For example, hospital staft in the Contra Costa registration district started 89 percent
of new fetal death certificates and started them three times faster than did funeral
home staff in the district. In contrast, hospital staff in Los Angeles started only

24 percent of new fetal death certificates and were only about 25 percent faster
than funeral home staff in the district. Still, data across the four local registration
districts show that regardless of the frequency with which hospitals start fetal death
certificates, they conduct the process more rapidly than funeral homes.

As a practical consideration, hospital staff are also more likely to have direct access
to the medical and personal information required during intermediate steps of

the registration process. According to staff at hospitals from each of the four local
registration districts, medical facilities that maintain patient records during patient
care and treatment are more likely to have direct access to the types of medical
information required during the registration process. Moreover, local registrars
explained that while a patient is in the hospital, staff may be likely to have direct
access to the patient to collect the personal information required in a fetal death
certificate. Indeed, despite the fact that FDRS data indicates funeral homes often
coordinate the collection of medical information for fetal death certificates, state
law currently makes attending physicians responsible for entering any required
medical information into the certificate. We identified nine individual cases

across the Sacramento, Placer, and Contra Costa local registration districts in which
the data specific to district records show that hospital staff completed at least the
first three steps of the registration process—starting the fetal death certificate,
entering required medical information, and having the local registrar accept the
medical information—and obtained the physician’s signature before transferring
the certificate to a funeral home. For these nine cases, those processes took a
combined average of roughly three days to complete, compared to the 18 days it
took to complete the first three steps of the registration process statewide.

The second-longest delay in the registration process involves the time it took to
obtain the physician’s or coroner’s signature on the certificate, collect and input any
updates to medical information, and submit the fetal death certificate to the local
registrar for final approval. Increased hospital involvement in the process of registering
fetal death certificates may also reduce these sources of delays. Although state law does
not specify which party is responsible for starting the fetal death certificate, it does
mandate that within 15 hours of the delivery, the attending physician state the cause
of death and any required medical information in the certificate, and then sign the
certificate. For the four registration districts we reviewed, physicians took an average of
four days to sign a fetal death certificate after staff at a hospital or funeral home sent a
signature request. Yet as Table 4 shows, the process went much faster in districts where
hospital staft made the majority of these requests. For example, hospital staff in the
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Placer registration district made these requests 70 percent of the time, and among the
districts we reviewed, it had the lowest average time for physicians to respond—less
than one day. In contrast, hospital staff in the Los Angeles registration district made only
26 percent of the physician signature requests, and, among the districts we reviewed,
physicians took significantly longer to sign—an average of more than six days overall.
In fact, our review of a selection of individual cases from each of the four registration
districts identified some signature requests from funeral home staff to physicians that
went unanswered for several days. In one case from the Sacramento registration district,
a funeral home submitted three separate requests over nine days before a physician
ultimately signed the certificate. According to the local registrar, these delays could
occur for a variety of reasons, including that the physician is busy or is out of the office.

Table 4

Hospitals Obtain Physicians’ Signatures Faster Than Do Funeral Homes

From 2017 Through 2021
LOCAL PERCENTAGE OF CERTIFICATES DISTRICTWIDE AVERAGE
REGISTRATION FOR WHICH HOSPITALS NUMBER OF DAYS TO OBTAIN A
DISTRICT REQUESTED A SIGNATURE PHYSICIAN’S SIGNATURE
Contra Costa 75% 1.67
Los Angeles 26 6.22
Placer 70 0.88
Sacramento 43 5.85

Source: Analysis of FDRS data.

Our review indicates that delays in obtaining physicians’ signatures may be
compounded by the need for funeral homes to update or correct required
information before doing so. We identified several instances in which delays occurred
because funeral home staff likely faced challenges obtaining medical information
from a hospital, personal information from a family, or both, during which time the
certificate remained inactive in FDRS. In one case from the Placer local registration
district, data specific to the district indicates that funeral home staff entered at least
some medical and personal information one day, then left the certificate inactive

for nearly five days, after which the staff entered additional information before
submitting the certificate for local registrar review. The local registrar explained that
there are several possible reasons for this type of delay. For example, some funeral
home corporations may own and operate up to five funeral homes with only one staft
member having access to FDRS. If this staff member is unavailable for any reason,
that absence could delay the registration process. The registrar also stated that
funeral homes may have difficulty obtaining medical information because the records
are not always in a centralized location or because the attending physician’s rotating
work schedule makes the physician unavailable.
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In another case, data for the Los Angeles registration district showed funeral home
staff entering information into a fetal death certificate two days after the certificate had
been started, but then the certificate was inactive for six days. We cannot conclude with
certainty in any case we identified that during such periods of a certificate’s inactivity,
the funeral home was actively working to obtain medical information from the hospital
or personal information. However, the fact that hospital staff completed these processes
faster on average supports the idea that the funeral homes' need to coordinate and
communicate with other entities contributed to otherwise potentially avoidable delays.

Collectively, the information we gathered supports the conclusion that fetal death
registrations proceed more rapidly and efficiently overall when hospitals start the

fetal death certificate and provide the required medical and personal information.

Table 5 demonstrates this efficiency. For instance, Table 5 shows that Contra Costa
hospitals started 89 percent, or 192, of the fetal death certificates for its local registration
district in FDRS, and those completed registrations took an average of 12 days—the
highest proportion of hospital-started certificates and the shortest average times of

the four districts. According to the local registrar, hospital staff likely start certificates
faster because information about a fetal death is located in the hospital’s database.
When hospitals begin the fetal death certification process, families are not placed in

the position of starting the fetal death registration process themselves by choosing and
contacting a funeral home. Moreover, hospitals have access to the necessary medical
information needed to complete the fetal death certificate in FDRS. Hospitals do not
carry the administrative burden that funeral home staff encounter when they are
required to contact the hospital to obtain the medical information needed to proceed
with the certification process. Delays may still understandably occur as families make
decisions that can affect the registration process, but when hospitals take the lead role in
starting the new certificates and entering key information into the certificates, it will help
ensure that families face minimal delays in obtaining necessary certificates and permits.

Table 5
When Hospitals Started Fetal Death Certificates, Districts Issued Burial Permits Faster
From 2017 Through 2021

LOCAL TOTAL PERCENTAGE OF AVERAGE NUMBER OF DAYS TO
REGISTRATION FETAL DEATHS CERTIFICATES STARTED REGISTER A FETAL DEATH AND

DISTRICT BY HOSPITALS ISSUE A BURIAL PERMIT
Contra Costa 215 89% 12
Los Angeles 2,684 24 29
Placer 210 69 20
Sacramento 507 40 36

Total 3,616

Source: Analysis of FDRS data.
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Coroners’ Involvement May Contribute to Fetal Death Registration Delays, But Coroners
Are Only Involved In Few Cases Statewide

Coroners sign only a small percentage of fetal death certificates statewide. Generally,
state law requires a coroner to examine and determine the circumstances, manner, and
cause of all violent, sudden, or unusual deaths. State law also requires funeral homes
and physicians to immediately notify a coroner of a death that occurred as a result of
such causes or circumstances. However, state law provides coroners with the discretion
to determine the extent to which they will investigate certain deaths. In these cases,

if the coroner determines that the physician of record has sufficient knowledge to
reasonably state the cause of death, the coroner may authorize the physician to sign the
death certificate. From 2017 through 2021, coroners signed 813 fetal death certificates
statewide, or about 7 percent of all certificates.

Although we identified some delays when coroners signed the fetal death certificate,
the reasons for the delays are not clear because the data in FDRS does not contain
explanations for what occurs during sometimes long periods of apparent inactivity.
For instance, in one case investigated by a coroner in the Los Angeles registration
district, the data show that the coroner took more than 9o days to create the new
fetal death certificate, sign it, and submit it to the local registrar. The data also

show that the local registrar registered the fetal death and issued a burial permit
within the same day, but no available information in FDRS explains why the coroner
took 9o days to create the certificate. The Los Angeles coroner explained that staff
made several attempts to notify the family for the interment of the fetus’s remains.
Seventy-five days after the fetal death, the coroner began processing the fetal death
certificate outside of FDRS, and 92 days after the fetal death, the coroner started the
new fetal death certificate in FDRS, signed it, and submitted it to the local registrar
for registration. It is possible that some of the delays we observed may be less
avoidable because a coroner’s examination of a fetal death from unusual or unclear
causes could reasonably be expected to take additional time.

One Coroner's Office staff member in the Placer district told us that the time to
review a fetal death occurring under circumstances such as violent, sudden, or
unusual deaths could range from one to two weeks. However, some delays we
observed may be prevented or lessened if the system used to register fetal deaths
were able to automatically notify parties when a certificate is awaiting their action. In
another case containing a significant delay before the coroner completed the review,
the FDRS data show that after a hospital referred the case to the Sacramento coroner
for review, 41 days elapsed before the coroner completed the file review. Although
we cannot conclude with certainty the specific causes of the delays or determine
whether the coroner was responsible for the entire inactivity in these cases, it is
possible that the coroner’s not being promptly alerted to the fetal death contributed
to the delay. Two of the four coroners in the local districts we reviewed explained
that delays in these type of cases could include circumstances in which a hospital

or funeral home does not immediately notify the coroner of a fetal death under its
jurisdiction or could reflect the fact that FDRS does not notify the coroner when a
hospital or funeral home refers the case to them.
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CDPH Could Improve Its Registration System’s Ability to Notify Parties That a Certificate Is
Awaiting Their Action

FDRS users—including physicians and hospital staff, coroners, and funeral home staff—
may frequently have been unaware that a fetal death certificate required their attention.
FDRS was not designed to notify a user that a certificate has been transferred by another
for their action—such as when a hospital transfers a certificate to a funeral home or
when a funeral home requests a physician’s or coroner’s signature. CDPH’s Vital Records
Registration Branch chief (branch chief) explained that FDRS’s notification capability
was limited to generating a list of fetal death certificates and notifying responsible
parties, when they log into the system, about the number of fetal death certificates that
had at that point exceeded the eight-day registration requirement. The branch chief
explained that CDPH intended that these notifications regarding the number of past-due
certificates would motivate the parties to continue gathering the information required
for registration. However, the effectiveness of this notification mechanism was limited
by the fact that it only affected certificates that had already exceeded the eight-day time
frame and that notifications were only visible when a user logged into FDRS. As a result,
parties who were not logged into the system were not notified about a pending action
required to move a death certificate along in the process.

Our review found that this limitation in FDRS likely contributed to delays in overall
registration timeliness among some of the cases we reviewed. Our review of 8o cases
identified at least 35 instances of delays occurring because a party was likely unaware
that a certificate awaited action. In one case from the Placer district, the local registrar
and funeral home did not view the certificate for five days and three days, respectively,
after it was transferred to them for review. Local registrar staff said they were not
entirely sure why the certificate was inactive for this amount of time but speculated
that they had learned about the certificate being delayed by receiving a phone call from
the funeral home.

To limit these types of delays, each of the four registrars either direct registrar staff to
proactively check FDRS to identify whether a certificate is pending their action or
they request that FDRS users notify them by fax, phone, or email that a certificate is
pending the registrar’s action. When a user submits a certificate for review to the local
registrar, it appears in the local registrar’s list of pending certificates, but registrar staft
do not receive an automatic notification of the new certificate. In response to this
limitation, Contra Costa has implemented a written policy that FDRS users notify the
registrar by fax when they have submitted a certificate for review. Los Angeles has

a written policy directing its staff to periodically monitor the electronic registration
system throughout the day for new fetal death certificate submissions. Placer staff
explained that the registrar’s office has an unwritten practice in which they request
funeral homes and medical facilities to notify them that a certificate has been
submitted to the local registrar for review. Notably, each of the seven hospitals and
eight funeral homes we spoke with stated that they use other means to communicate
with parties outside of FDRS regarding a certificate’s status, for these same reasons.
Although this type of proactive coordination among the parties involved could help
reduce delays in general, CDPH could more efficiently facilitate that coordination

by implementing a mechanism within its fetal death registration system that
automatically notifies users when a certificate requires their action.
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CDPH could remedy this issue by ensuring that its newer electronic system for
registering fetal deaths, EBRS, is capable of automatically notifying users each

time a certificate is pending their action. Further, it could be helpful to send these
notifications outside of the EBRS system, such as by sending an email. CDPH noted
some potential difficulties in sending these notifications but explained that it has
nonetheless included a change request for a notification mechanism in the scope of
work for its new Cal-IVRS contract.

CDPH COULD USE ITS AUTHORITY AND AVAILABLE INFORMATIONTO
BETTER ENSURE THE TIMELY REGISTRATION OF FETAL DEATHS

CDPH has not regularly used its FDRS data to determine possible reasons for delays
or address these delays with the parties it oversees. CDPH could better oversee

the fetal death registration process by coordinating and tracking the performance

of responsible parties and by providing needed information to the state entities
empowered to take administrative action when private entities do not comply with
registration time frames.

CDPH Has Not Used All Available Information to Help Ensure Timeliness

As part of its responsibility to oversee the registration of fetal deaths in the State, CDPH
maintains an electronic registration system to store information related to that process.
Before it began using EBRS to register fetal deaths in June 2023, CDPH used FDRS to
track the number and timeliness of fetal death registrations. However, CDPH has not
regularly used its access to fetal death registration data to detect late registrations and
intervene with parties involved. CDPH indicated that it is broadly aware of delays in
fetal death registration and that it previously had in place an undocumented process
for monitoring registration data. The department explained that the top priority of its
Vital Records staff is to certify fetal death certificates when a local registrar registers a
fetal death and that in the past, when staff had time available outside of those duties,
staff used to review FDRS for registration certificates aged more than 30 days and send
emails to notify local registrars of their late status. Certificates aged more than 30 days,
we note, are those that have taken nearly four times longer than state law allows.

The extent of the department’s past efforts are unclear, however, since CDPH could
only provide us with eight notification emails, all sent during one month in 2017. The
department explained that it stopped performing this type of monitoring notification
in 2020 because of staff limitations related to the pandemic.

CDPH stated that fetal deaths are a small percentage of overall deaths and that the
emails it provided to us are representative of how few fetal death registrations were
past due. However, the data clearly indicate otherwise: from calendar years 2017
through 2022, 84 percent of fetal death registrations surpassed the eight-day period.
The department said that it reestablished the process of sending email notifications to
local registrars beginning in November 2023. However, our review indicates that local
registrar staff are generally aware of delays, suggesting that CDPH’s oversight efforts
might achieve greater benefits if they focused on the likely causes of or trends in delays
revealed by analyses similar to those we performed.
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Although CDPH is aware of fetal death registrations that exceed the eight-day

time frame, it has neither accessed nor evaluated FDRS data to determine specific
information about the underlying causes of delays. According to CDPH, staff have
reviewed these data in limited circumstances to address a specific complaint or inquiry.
However, CDPH explained that it has not evaluated these data in any way comparable
to our analysis to determine the steps in the process causing the greatest delays or
reviewed individual registrations to determine the reasons delays occur. The FDRS
data contains a multitude of information that could be analyzed to determine causes
of delays, as we demonstrate throughout this report, and CDPH could use those data
to monitor the current performance of parties involved in the fetal death registration
process to try to prevent late registrations. Until CDPH uses this information regularly,
the issue of fetal death registrations lagging behind legal time frames will likely persist.

CDPH Could Use Its Authority to More Consistently and Effectively Ensure Fetal Death
Registration Timeliness

Although improvements to the fetal death registration process and database that

we identified will likely help reduce delayed registration, CDPH should implement
further changes and more actively oversee the process. For example, state law
authorizes CDPH to hold meetings with local registrars to discuss problems related
to vital records registrations, including fetal death registration, in order to promote
uniformity of registration policies and procedures. CDPH stated it holds these
meetings with local registrars quarterly. However, CDPH could also hold similar
meetings with hospitals and funeral homes, and this regular communication and
collaboration with all parties involved in the fetal death registration process could help
CDPH to identify causes of and solutions to the delays. For instance, CDPH could use
these meetings to discuss potential solutions to address the greatest contributors to
delays, such as the step in which the parties start a new fetal death certificate in EBRS.

If CDPH were to hold regular meetings, those meetings could also help identify other
areas of concern involving the fetal death registration process or the data systems
used to register deaths, and they might lead to solutions beyond those our review
already identified. In fact, the branch chief explained that CDPH once held monthly
meetings with local registrars and funeral homes to gain perspective on their
concerns with the fetal death registration process but discontinued them in 2017. The
branch chief is uncertain about the reason behind this decision but explained that
CDPH is open to restarting these meetings. She said that CDPH intends to begin
holding meetings again by June 2024 to discuss vital records registration—including
the fetal death registration process—and plans to include in these meetings local
registrars, hospitals, funeral homes, physicians, and coroners. However, she also
noted that the large number of hospitals, funeral homes, physicians, and coroners in
the state could create logistical difficulties, and she stated that CDPH may be better
positioned to invite representatives from professional organizations representing
these entities. Regardless of CDPH’s exact approach when holding these meetings, it
must ensure that the meetings offer an avenue for parties involved in the fetal death
registration process to learn of their responsibilities and provide their perspective to
CDPH on potential process improvements.
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CDPH could also offer better assistance to those involved in the registration process.
The department operates a help desk that provides assistance to FDRS users who require
it, but our review was unable to determine the extent to which that effort has helped
with the timeliness of registration. Local registrar staff in both Contra Costa and Placer
expressed concerns about the adequacy of the help desk’s response to their inquiries.
The Contra Costa local registrar stated that the help desk telephone is frequently not
answered and that the registrar has not received responses to emails since the pandemic.
Placer staft told us they no longer call the help desk because staft there have rarely
answered the telephone since the onset of the pandemic. Although CDPH stated that its
help desk is responsive to and effectively provides support for all fetal death registration
inquiries, the department could not provide any evidence of inquiries it had received,
nor could it demonstrate its responsiveness to such inquiries, such as telephone records
or email documentation. We were therefore unable to assess the quality and usefulness
of the assistance CDPH has provided through this tool.

Finally, CDPH could do more to ensure that hospitals and funeral homes are aware

of their obligations in the fetal death registration process and have access to the data
system used to fulfill those obligations. CDPH explained that it does not conduct
outreach or provide guidance to hospitals and funeral homes and that it relies on
these parties to contact CDPH to request registration training and access to FDRS.
The department said that it presumes that if hospitals or funeral homes are required
to register fetal deaths as part of their business operation, they should be aware of the
fetal death requirements outlined in state law. CDPH also said that it would grant access
to any hospital or funeral home that requested FDRS access but that it cannot require
hospitals or funeral homes to adopt FDRS. However, the department also stated that
some hospitals have contacted it for guidance because they have been uncertain about
the requirements in state law.

Indeed, data provided by CDPH shows instances in which a hospital or funeral home attends
to fetal deaths and lacks access to FDRS. Of the 10 hospitals in Los Angeles that reported
the largest numbers of fetal deaths from 2017 through 2021, two lacked access to FDRS yet
reported 20 percent of fetal deaths across those 10 hospitals (216 of 1,091). Similarly, three of
eight hospitals where fetal deaths occur in the Sacramento district, and which handled

20 percent of fetal deaths (101 out of 504), also lack access to FDRS. In Contra Costa,

one funeral home, which handled 5 percent of fetal deaths (seven of 133) among the top

10 funeral homes likely providing burial services in the county, lacks access to FDRS.

CDPH explained that when hospitals or funeral homes lack access to FDRS, they must
rely on other parties that do have access to start the fetal death certificate process and
populate the necessary information. Because fetal death registration proceeds more
rapidly and efficiently overall when hospitals start certificates in FDRS and provide the
required medical and personal information, we believe that all hospitals should have
access to and training on CDPH's newer electronic system for registering fetal deaths,
EBRS, and on the requirements in state law. The Legislature could therefore reduce
delays in fetal death registrations by requiring hospitals to start this process. Similarly,
CDPH could take a more proactive approach and contact hospitals and funeral homes
that lack EBRS access to provide them with instructions on obtaining access. These
hospitals and funeral homes could then be equipped to fulfill their responsibilities in the
fetal death registration process and help to mitigate late registrations.



CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR
Report 2023-110 | February 2024

Overseeing the Timeliness of Fetal Death Certificate Registrations Will Require CDPH to
Coordinate With Other State Oversight Entities

Although CDPH is the state entity responsible for overseeing fetal death registration,
state law does not grant CDPH the specific authority to impose administrative
sanctions, such as administrative fines, against physicians and funeral homes in
response to registrations that exceed established time frames. Rather, state law
establishes criminal penalties for the failure to fill out a fetal death certificate or register
it with the local registrar in the manner required by law, and authorizes CDPH to
refer these violations to the district attorney. State law also provides CDPH with
supervisory power over local registrars so that there will be uniform compliance
with all vital records requirements and authorizes CDPH to adopt regulations for the
enforcement of vital records requirements. CDPH’s branch chief said that as a result
of its lack of authority over funeral homes, coroners, and physicians, CDPH can

only notify a local registrar that a fetal death registration has exceeded the eight-day
requirement. When we asked the branch chief about the need for regulations related
to fetal death registration, she explained that CDPH began developing regulations
before the pandemic. However, since May 2022, CDPH has been undergoing

an organizational restructuring, and the position responsible for overseeing the
development of regulations was not filled as of December 2023. She also explained
that any proposed regulations would include consideration of all vital records state
laws, in addition to state law concerning fetal death registration, and that developing
and implementing such regulations could take CDPH several years.

State law already grants the ability to impose administrative sanctions on physicians
and funeral homes for fetal death registration timeline violations to two other

state entities within the California Department of Consumer Affairs—the Medical
Board of California (Medical Board) and the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau (Funeral
Bureau).® However, investigatory and enforcement efforts by the Medical Board and
the Funeral Bureau are complaint-driven, meaning that these entities currently only
become aware of a violation when a member of the public files a complaint. Both the
Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau investigate these complaints to determine
whether a violation occurred and, if warranted, take corrective action. We reviewed
complaints related to fetal death registrations that the Medical Board provided for
the years 2018 through 2023, and complaints resulting in citations that the Funeral
Bureau provided for the years 2017 through 2022. However, during these time
periods, the Medical Board conducted only five investigations related to fetal death
registration, and the Funeral Bureau conducted only one which resulted in a citation
because of a funeral home’s violation of state law. These six investigations represent
a negligible proportion of the total fetal death registrations recorded in FDRS that
exceeded time frame requirements. Given the volume of those registration delays,
the infrequency of these investigations indicates the need for an improved process.

6 The Osteopathic Medical Board of California (Osteopathic Medical Board) licenses doctors of osteopathic medicine, who
if in attendance, are also subject to the 15-hour requirement in state law to state on the fetal death certificate the time of
fetal death or delivery, the causes of the fetal death, and other medical data, and sign the certificate. Because the number
of physicians licensed by the Medical Board is far greater than the number of physicians licensed by the Osteopathic
Medical Board, we focused our analysis on the efforts the Medical Board has taken to ensure that physicians comply with
state law’s requirements for the fetal death registration process.
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Because CDPH neither notifies these entities when physicians or funeral homes are

in violation of fetal death registration timelines nor provides them with access to the
system that CDPH currently uses to track fetal death registration, the Medical Board
and the Funeral Bureau are unaware of the actual scale of late registrations throughout
the State. Without this information, the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau have
limited ability to ensure that physicians and funeral homes register fetal deaths in
compliance with the law. As part of our review, we assessed whether actions taken

by the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau that resulted from their investigations
aligned with each entity’s policies and state law. Although we did not identify any clear
shortcomings in these investigations, we are concerned that they do not represent

a sufficient level of overall enforcement. Moreover, because those investigations
represent a negligible proportion of the total time-frame violations we found, we are
concerned they are of limited use for investigating and deterring violations.

CDPH explained that although its previous fetal death registration system lacked the
ability to generate a report demonstrating the timeliness of fetal death registrations,
its current fetal death registration system possesses this capability. If CDPH were

to use this functionality to provide fetal death registration timeliness data to the
appropriate disciplinary entity, such as the Medical Board or the Funeral Bureau, that
entity would then be better aware of timeliness violations in fetal death registrations.
Therefore, expanding its use of its current data system and serving as the
coordinating body with the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau would help CDPH
better ensure compliance and potentially address the causes of delayed registrations.

Both the Funeral Bureau and the Medical Board agreed that if CDPH were to regularly
notify them of registration delays, these notifications would be helpful to their
oversight efforts. The Funeral Bureau said that receiving notifications about untimely
registrations would allow it, depending on available resources, to begin investigating
the reasons for the violation without requiring a family to file a complaint. The Funeral
Bureau explained that in addition to the key dates surrounding the fetal death and
registration, it would need other information that might be confidential, including
information about the funeral home and the identifying information of the deceased.
Similarly, the Medical Board explained that receiving notifications regarding late
registrations could be beneficial to enhancing its awareness of time-frame violations
but also stated that it would need CDPH to provide information required by federal
and state privacy laws to obtain consent to access relevant medical records to
investigate a potential violation. Since each entity would require different, potentially
confidential information to investigate a potential violation, it may be necessary for
the Legislature to amend state law to require that CDPH coordinate with relevant
licensing entities—such as the Medical Board and Funeral Bureau—to provide the
data and information on fetal death registration timeliness violations necessary for
these entities to learn of and investigate these violations.
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Recommendations

Legislature

To improve the average time it takes for fetal death registration statewide, the Legislature
should amend state law to require hospitals, or any medical facilities where fetal deaths
may occur, to initiate the creation of the fetal death certificate for any fetal deaths that
occur at their facilities. In doing so, the Legislature should reaffirm that physicians,

or hospital staff as their delegates, are responsible for entering the required medical
information into the fetal death certificates and should clarify that physicians must
sign the certificates before transferring responsibility for the next steps of certificate
completion to funeral homes.

To ensure the effective enforcement of fetal death registration timeliness requirements,
the Legislature should amend state law to require CDPH to regularly notify the
Medical Board, the Funeral Bureau, and any other relevant licensing entity, such

as the Osteopathic Medical Board, of instances in which registration data indicate

that physicians or funeral establishments are repeatedly failing to comply with these
requirements. The notification should include the information necessary for the
licensing entity to adequately investigate delinquent fetal death registrations.

California Department of Public Health (CDPH)

To reduce the time that parties involved in the fetal death registration process take to
notify one another that a certificate is pending action, CDPH should, by June 2024,
submit a request to its registration system vendor to develop and implement in the
system an electronic notification mechanism that will alert the appropriate user outside
the system, such as by email, that a certificate is awaiting that user’s action.

To better fulfill its duty to oversee the fetal death registration process, CDPH should,
by June 2024, begin to hold meetings regularly with local registrars to identify and
resolve issues related to fetal death registration. CDPH should include in such meetings
representatives for parties involved in the registration process—such as hospitals,
physicians, and funeral homes—as well as representatives from relevant licensing
entities—such as the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau—to obtain additional
perspectives about ongoing causes for delays.

To better ensure the effectiveness of its help desk, CDPH should, beginning in June 2024,
periodically survey local registrars to solicit feedback on their experience with the help
desk and should use this feedback to improve help desk processes as necessary.

To mitigate registration delays and ensure that all hospitals and funeral homes with a
responsibility to complete their portions of fetal death certificates are able to rapidly
fulfill their obligations, CDPH should, by June 2024, notify hospitals and funeral homes
that lack access to its registration system for fetal deaths of their legal obligations in

the fetal death registration process and provide instructions on how to access the data
system used to fulfill those obligations.
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We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally accepted
government auditing standards and under the authority vested in the California

State Auditor by Government Code section 8543 et seq. Those standards require that
we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide

a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on the audit objectives.

We believe that the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and
conclusions based on our audit objectives.

Respectfully submitted,

i A

GRANT PARKS
California State Auditor

February 29, 2024

Staff: Laura G. Kearney, Deputy State Auditor
Mark Reinardy, Audit Principal
Grayson Hough, Senior Auditor
Shawn Butler
Stephen Franz
Katrina Solorio

Legal Counsel: Natalie Moore
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LOCAL REGISTRATION DISTRICTS’ AVERAGE PROCESSING TIMES FOR
COMPLETING FETAL DEATH REGISTRATIONS

The Joint Legislative Audit Committee (Audit Committee) directed the California State Auditor
to determine the average processing time for CDPH to complete registration of a fetal death and
the average processing times per county of a fetal death certificate. Table A presents the results
of our analysis for the State’s 61 local registration districts for calendar years 2017 through 2022.

TableA

Local Registration Districts’ Average Processing Times for Completing Fetal Death Registrations
From 2017 Through 2022

LOCAL

REGISTRATION EDIF.1,]

DISTRICT
Alameda
Amador
Berkeley
Butte
Contra Costa
Del Norte
El Dorado
Fresno
Humboldt
Imperial
Inyo

Kern

Kings

Lake
Lassen
Long Beach
Los Angeles
Madera
Marin
Mariposa
Mendocino

Merced

351

165
79
245
12
20
576
53
86

472
67
20

5

396

3,144
47
32
<5
23
86

KEY STEPS IN THE FETAL DEATH REGISTRATION PROCESS AT THE LOCAL DISTRCT

STEP 1—
DAYSTO
START
AFETAL

DEATH

CERTIFICATE

BYA

FUNERAL
HOME OR
HOSPITAL

5.69
2.94

3.08
4.06
3.63
10.15
9.84
18.29
5.81
30.41
3.86
26.05
8.51
2.61
3.62
11.03
18.11
10.49
8.22
6.53
7.53
8.91

STEP2—
FETAL DEATH
CERTIFICATE

MEDICAL

INFORMATION

COLLECTED
AND
SUBMITTED
TOLOCAL
REGISTRAR
FOR REVIEW

248
2.78
1.56
4.89
1.55
18.94
5.57
3.44
2.66
18.40
1.28
3.00
7.84
2.54
0.86
3.44
3.62
2.67
3.52
7.16
343
2.78

STEP3—
LOCAL
REGISTRAR
ACCEPTS

ORREJECTS
FETAL DEATH
CERTIFICATE

MEDICAL

INFORMATION

0.581
0.005
0.123
0.673
1.297

1.035
0.803
0.708
0.840
0.287
1374
2.258
0.741
0.135
0.687
1.870
1394
2.445
0.005
0.602
0.609

STEP4—

COMPLETED

FETAL
DEATH

CERTIFICATE
SUBMITTED

FORLOCAL
REGISTRAR
APPROVAL

8.28
0.45
8.58
3.
4.94

141
5.31
4.02
17.89
0.06
6.98
2.78
2.35
0.88
6.39
7.01
2.84
2.29
0.68
1.71
2.64

STEP5—
LOCAL
REGISTRAR
APPROVES
ORREJECTS
THE FETAL
DEATH
CERTIFICATE

1.04
0.04
8.44
0.52
1.02
0.18
0.80
1.52
0.53
0.37
0.1
2.46
0.41
2.01
0.15
1.28
1.66
0.49
1.28
4.02
041
0.85

THE TIME IT TAKES
TOREGISTERA
FETAL DEATH

STEP 6—

LOCAL

REGISTRAR
ISSUESA

BURIAL
PERMIT
CDPH
CERTIFIES
THE FETAL
DEATH

AVERAGE
NUMBER

MEDIAN
NUMBER

OF DAYS | OF DAYS | CERTIFICATE
0.0094 17.89 2.28
0.1400 7.92 1.35
0.0282 22.21 0.61
0.0323 13.22 0.82
0.1403 12.50 10.49 0.97
0.0029 15.94 1.13
0.0067 18.45 1.24
0.2694 28.32 0.86
0.0378 12.97 1.04
0.0181 4431 0.61
0.0057 6.47 0.84
0.0679 39.20 0.76
0.0002 21.00 1.03
1.2450 14.03 1.06
0.0016 492 0.25
0.0031 22.82 0.86
0.0267 30.99 16.61 0.55
0.0156 17.76 0.61
0.0032 16.31 1.59
2.1934 20.58 0.1
0.0007 14.24 0.33
0.0577 15.93 0.66

continued on next page ...
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THE TIME IT TAKES

TOREGISTER A
KEY STEPS IN THE FETAL DEATH REGISTRATION PROCESS AT THE LOCAL DISTRCT FETAL DEATH

STEP 1— STEP2— STEP3— STEP4— STEP5— STEP 6—

DAYSTO FETAL DEATH LOCAL COMPLETED LOCAL LOCAL
START CERTIFICATE REGISTRAR FETAL REGISTRAR | REGISTRAR
AFETAL MEDICAL ACCEPTS DEATH APPROVES ISSUESA

DEATH INFORMATION ORREJECTS CERTIFICATE | ORREJECTS BURIAL
CERTIFICATE COLLECTED FETALDEATH | SUBMITTED THE FETAL PERMIT
BYA AND CERTIFICATE FORLOCAL DEATH CDPH
FUNERAL SUBMITTED MEDICAL REGISTRAR | CERTIFICATE CERTIFIES

LOCAL HOME OR TOLOCAL | INFORMATION | APPROVAL AVERAGE | MEDIAN | THEFETAL
REGISTRATION TN (TH 1T 04 /8 REGISTRAR NUMBER | NUMBER DEATH
DISTRICT FOR REVIEW OF DAYS | OFDAYS | CERTIFICATE
Mono 6 2.49 1.96 0.017 @ 0.31 0.0015 5.36 0.46
Monterey 184 5.57 1.68 4,008 6.69 138 0.0016 12.54 1.48
Napa 16 6.87 410 0972 251 043 0.0112 14.66 0.88
Nevada 19 6.18 7.71 4107 31.13 0.09 0.1019 29.59 031
Orange 987 11.17 2.66 1.169 3.86 1.02 0.0922 18.62 0.66
Pasadena 20 10.55 10.80 1.341 5.20 134 0.0289 2875 0.65
Placer 248 6.31 0.64 1.310 10.78 2.29 0.0151 21.15 13.65 2.30
Plumas <5 9.86 13.86 @ & 0.01 0.3062 18.54 0.31
Riverside 761 16.83 3.79 1.559 3.36 1.82 0.0004 24.69 1.90
Sacramento 597 19.86 1.94 0.672 13.93 137 0.0659 36.95 17.50 0.78
San Benito 15 5.68 1.41 0.015 1.95 2,04 0.0015 9.42 0.56
San Bernardino 1,059 14.97 3.74 2.053 11.34 2.23 0.0306 34.90 1.09
San Diego 950 8.03 2.24 0.906 10.77 1.14 0.0314 23.13 0.84
San Francisco 351 10.67 1.69 0.828 452 1.63 0.0141 19.11 0.57
San Joaquin 337 13.23 7.69 0.852 5.44 1.01 0.0382 3037 0.92
San Luis Obispo 51 6.20 3.29 0.500 3.40 0.42 0.0026 13.75 0.90
San Mateo 70 9.11 231 1.818 5.14 1.22 0.0002 19.49 0.45
Santa Barbara 134 11.02 1.31 0.932 1.80 0.43 0.0015 13.41 0.45
Santa Clara 559 11.27 2.97 1223 6.28 1.10 0.0015 23.00 242
Santa Cruz 59 5.89 347 1222 2.66 0.81 0.0145 14.48 1.44
Shasta 49 35.69 10.66 1.131 18.18 1.50 0.0337 67.03 073
Siskiyou 18 5.33 11.53 0.991 3.40 0.06 0.0017 20.94 0.60
Solano 151 11.88 243 0.562 425 0.94 0.0003 19.54 0.76
Sonoma 114 9.74 1.90 1.220 3.60 0.83 0.0110 17.26 0.62
Stanislaus 337 7.61 1.98 0.856 3.13 0.63 0.0065 14.14 1.25
Sutter <5 345 0.92 0.057 0.17 0.03 0.0005 4.62 0.92
Tehama 16 12.13 2.34 0.480 3.07 0.54 0.0032 19.15 0.44
Tulare 248 8.47 5.36 2.238 2.81 1.16 0.0131 18.56 0.71
Tuolumne 20 3.87 234 0.491 3.92 0.38 0.1861 11.54 1.60
Ventura 220 11.31 3.41 1.912 3.07 0.93 0.1296 16.49 0.65
Yolo 45 10.95 2,01 1.430 3.36 0.98 0.0005 16.82 0.62

Yuba 60 12.94 291 0.488 2.55 0.89 0.1256 18.30 0.91
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THE TIME IT TAKES
TOREGISTERA

KEY STEPS IN THE FETAL DEATH REGISTRATION PROCESS AT THE LOCAL DISTRCT FETAL DEATH
STEP 1— STEP 2— STEP3— STEP 4— STEP 5— STEP 6—
DAYSTO FETAL DEATH LOCAL COMPLETED LOCAL LOCAL
START CERTIFICATE REGISTRAR FETAL REGISTRAR | REGISTRAR
AFETAL MEDICAL ACCEPTS DEATH APPROVES ISSUES A
DEATH INFORMATION ORREJECTS CERTIFICATE | ORREJECTS BURIAL
CERTIFICATE COLLECTED FETAL DEATH SUBMITTED THE FETAL PERMIT
BYA AND CERTIFICATE FORLOCAL DEATH CDPH
FUNERAL SUBMITTED MEDICAL REGISTRAR | CERTIFICATE CERTIFIES
LOCAL HOME OR TO LOCAL INFORMATION APPROVAL AVERAGE | MEDIAN THE FETAL
REGISTRATION gDl3:\4,! HOSPITAL REGISTRAR NUMBER | NUMBER DEATH
DISTRICT FORREVIEW OF DAYS | OF DAYS | CERTIFICATE
Alpine
Calaveras
Colusa
Glenn THESE LOCAL REGISTRATION DISTRICTS DID NOT RECORD ANY FETAL DEATHS DURING THE AUDIT PERIOD.
Modoc
Sierra
Trinity

Source: CDPH's Fetal Death Registration System and interviews with local registrars.

Note: Some FDRS records lack data in one or more of the above steps, which can lead to a different overall average. As a result, the sum of steps one through six in the
above bars do not exactly match those in the average. For instance, it took 37 days on average to register a fetal death in the Sacramento district. However, because data
are absent in one or more steps, the sum of steps one through six indicates an average of nearly 38 days. Finally, some FDRS records have data points that are significantly
different from the majority of records. For instance, one FDRS record in the Nevada district significantly skewed the average of step 4 to 31 days, making it larger than the
average suggested by most of the data.

* Records do not contain data.
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Appendix B

MEDICAL AND PERSONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A
FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATE

Before a fetal death can be registered, parties involved in the registration process
must enter both medical and personal information into a fetal death certificate. The
certificate must be signed by a physician or coroner and be reviewed and accepted
by the local registrar. Figure B shows the types of information required on a fetal
death certificate, including the fields that various parties involved in the fetal death
registration process are responsible for completing.
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Figure B
The Fetal Death Certificate Requires the Collection of Medical and Personal Information

CERTIFICATE OF FETAL DEATH
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Personal information— Medical information— Coroner— o
collected by funeral director collected by physician or coroner* specific to a coroner D Local registrarsignature

Source: CDPH’s Fetal Death Registration System and state law.

* Although state law imposes these requirements on physicians but not hospitals, hospital staff often play a role in completing fetal death certificates
and obtaining physicians' signatures.
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The Audit Committee directed the California State Auditor to conduct an audit

of the fetal death registration process statewide and the issuing of fetal death
certificates. To complete this audit, we assessed CDPH's oversight and enforcement
duties and practices, and we examined the fetal death registration policies and
practices of four local registrars: Placer, Sacramento, Los Angeles, and Contra Costa
registration districts. Table C lists the objectives that the Audit Committee approved
and the methods we used to address them. Unless otherwise stated in the table or
elsewhere in the report, statements and conclusions about items selected for review
should not be projected to the population.

Table C

Audit Objectives and the Methods Used to Address Them

AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

1 Review and evaluate the laws, rules, and
regulations significant to the audit objectives.

2 Evaluate the statewide oversight of the fetal
death and stillbirth certificate processes,
including any relevant policies and procedures.

3 Totheextent possible, assess the timeliness
of the fetal death and stillbirth certificate
processes and determine for the most recent
five years the CDPH average, statewide
county average, and individual county
averages of processing times for issuing such
certificates. If statewide county averages are
not available, determine for the most recent
five years the average processing times for
fetal death and stillbirth certificates for the
four selected counties.

Reviewed and evaluated state laws and regulations that are applicable to fetal
death registrations.

+ Reviewed relevant CDPH documents and interviewed CDPH’s Vital Records staff to
determine the extent of oversight and support CDPH has provided to local registrars,
funeral homes, hospitals, physicians, and coroners to ensure their adherence to applicable
fetal death registration timelines outlined in state law.

Reviewed relevant CDPH documents and interviewed CDPH’s Vital Records staff to assess
the adequacy of CDPH monitoring of fetal death registration timeliness, determined the
extent of its follow-up with relevant parties causing registration delays, and evaluated
whether these efforts were likely to positively affect the registration process. Determined
what additional actions, if any, CDPH could take to help ensure timely registration.

Interviewed key staff at the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau. Reviewed
complaints related to fetal death registrations that the Medical Board provided for the
years 2018 through 2023, and complaints resulting in citations that the Funeral Bureau
provided for the years 2017 through 2022, to assess the extent of their enforcement
efforts related to ensuring that physicians and funeral homes complied with the
applicable fetal death registration timeliness requirements.

Reviewed policies and procedures that the Medical Board and the Funeral Bureau use
related to their review of physician and funeral home compliance with fetal death
registration timeline requirements.

Assessed whether each entity’s reviews of relevant complaints against physicians and
funeral homes were in compliance with applicable policies and state law.

Using statewide data for 2017 through 2022, determined the statewide average

and median time to complete a fetal death registration and to issue a burial permit.
Determined the average processing time for CDPH to complete the State’s additional
step of certifying a fetal death.

Using detailed FDRS data obtained from CDPH, for 2017 through 2022, segmented the
registration process into six key steps and determined the average processing time for
each step of the registration process for each local registration district statewide.

Selected Placer and Sacramento as two local registration districts to review per audit
request. After reviewing statewide data on the volume of cases and the average time
taken to register a fetal death for each local registration district statewide, selected
Los Angeles and Contra Costa as the other two local registration districts for review.

continued on next page ...
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AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

4 Atthe four selected counties, compare and « Interviewed relevant staff from the four local registrars and reviewed duty statements
contrast the following: or job descriptions to understand and compare key roles and responsibilities related
to fetal death registration, including the circumstances under which coroners

a. The roles and responsibilities of each agency, .
become involved.

office, and individuals working on behalf of
each agency or office involved in the fetal

Interviewed staff at each of the four local registrars and reviewed relevant documentation

death and stillbirth certificate process. to identify any training they have received and policies and procedures they follow
b. The policies and procedures used and related to the fetal death registration process. Determined that, in general, all
training received by the various agencies, four districts use CDPH guidance as their primary criteria for the registration process.

offices, and individuals involved in
the process.

Evaluated any other procedures and practices the local registrars use to identify any key

differences or best practices.
¢. The impact that differences in county

processes or other external factors,

Interviewed staff from CDPH, the four local registrars under review, and funeral

like COVID-19, have on the amount of homes, hospitals, and coroners to obtain perspective on the causes for registration
time it takes to process fetal death and delays, including whether COVID-19 or legal requirements for unattended fetal deaths
stillborn certificates. impacted the time it took to complete fetal death registrations. Using CDPH data

for calendar years 2017 through 2022, determined whether there were significant
differences or trends in fetal death registration processing times, before and after
COVID-19, and related to unattended fetal deaths, and whether they impacted the
processing time of fetal death registrations.

d. The differences, if any, in the process for
issuing fetal death and stillbirth certificates
that exist depending on whether the fetal
deaths and stillbirths happen in a hospital
or at home and those that are attended Using FDRS data for calendar years 2017 through 2021, judgmentally selected 80 fetal
by a medical provider versus those that death registration cases—20 from each of the four local registrars reviewed—
are unattended. considering factors such as time taken overall and at specific phases, entities involved,

and other factors. Evaluated the data for each case to determine the extent to which
actions by the local registrar, funeral home, hospital, physician, or coroner significantly
impacted the processing time of fetal death registrations. Interviewed staff from the
four local registrars under review, along with staff from associated funeral homes,
hospitals, and coroners to obtain additional perspective about the results of our

data analysis.

5  Review and assess any other issues that are Using our analyses under audit objectives 2, 3, and 4, identified strategies and developed
significant to the audit, including identifying related recommendations to help mitigate delays and improve the oversight of the fetal
any improvements that would result in a more death registration process.
efficient timeframe for processing fetal death
and stillbirth certificates.

Source: Audit workpapers.

Assessment of Data Reliability

The U.S. Government Accountability Office, whose standards we are statutorily obligated
to follow, requires us to assess the sufficiency and appropriateness of computer-processed
information we use to support our findings, conclusions, or recommendations. In
performing this audit, we relied on CDPH's FDRS data to assess the timeliness of the fetal
death registration processes and to determine the average processing times for issuing
fetal death certificates statewide and for each registration district. To evaluate these data,
we reviewed CDPH's system controls for ensuring the accuracy and completeness of

the information in the system and found that CDPH has established sufficient controls
for ensuring the accuracy and completeness of FDRS data. We also interviewed staft
members knowledgeable about the data and performed electronic testing of the data. As
a result of this assessment, we found the data sufficiently reliable for our audit purposes.
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State of California—Health and Human Services Agency

N California Department of Public Health

) COPH

Tomas J. Aragén, MD, DrPH GAVIN NEWSOM
Director and State Public Health Officer Governor

February 6, 2024

Grant Parks

California State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Mr. Parks:

The California Department of Public Health thanks the California State Auditor for its draft audit
report titled “California Department of Public Health: Process Improvements Could Help Reduce
Delays in Completing Fetal Death Registrations.”

We believe in the importance of ensuring compliance with all vital records requirements,
including the timely registration of fetal deaths. We acknowledge and appreciate the insights
shared in the audit report. We agree with the auditor’s recommendations. Specific to
recommendation #1, we have already submitted a change request for a notification mechanism
as a part of the scope of work for the new California Integrated Vital Records System contract,
of which the electronic fetal death registration system is a part of.

As the report recommends, we will strive to facilitate a timelier fetal death registration process
across all involved parties. We look forward to reporting our progress at the intervals

designated by the auditor.

If you have any questions, please contact Rob Hughes, Deputy Director, Office of Compliance, at
(916) 306-2251.

Sincerely,

Tomas J. Aragén, MD, DrPH
Director and State Public Health Officer
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